Derbyshire Top Ten

Google Maps Open Source Maps

Statistics and Files
Start: Edale
Distance: 28 miles (45 km)
Grid Ref: SK125852
Climbing: 1,278 metres
Walk time: 10-14 hours
Days: 1-2

Ordnance Survey Explorer Map (1:25,000)

Summary: The Derbyshire Top Ten is a circular walk in the Dark Peak region of the Peak District National Park. As the name implies the route visits the ten highest points of Derbyshire. From the starting point in Edale, which is also the starting point of the Pennine Way National Trail the top ten route climbs to the dark peak plateau of Kinder Scout by way of Grindslow Knoll, Crowden Tower and Crowden Head to Kinder Low. The Pennine Way is then followed to Kinder Downfall, Mill Hill and Featherbed Moss before continuing to the northern limit of the route on Bleaklow (Bleaklow Head and Bleaklow Hill). The route then returns south to Mill Hill much the way it came except a short detour to Doctor's Gate Culvert. After Mill Hill the route continues to The Edge and Fairbrook Naze, continuing on to Blackden Moor and Hartshorn (Upper Tor). Finally the Nab is covered before descending from the dark peak back to Edale.

Useful Links:
Long Distance Walkers Association

Feedback and Suggestions: To suggest a link for inclusion on a this page please complete the Walking Englishman Feedback Form. Thank you.

Copyright © 2003-2023 Walking Englishman. All rights reserved.

Ordnance Survey

Facebook Twitter You Tube Linked In Google +
Facebook Twitter You Tube Linked In Google +