Bowland-Dales Traverse

A 85 miles long distance footpath which celebrates both the Forest of Bowland and Yorkshire Dales, crossing them in a south-west to north-east line, from Garstang to Richmond. Maps, statistics and gpx route file for the walk are included.

Google Maps Open Source Maps

Statistics and Files
Start: Garstang
Distance: 85 miles (137 km)
Grid Ref: SD490447
Climbing: 4,593 metres
Walk time: 35-43 hours
Days: 5-8

Ordnance Survey Explorer Map (1:25,000)

Summary: The Bowland Dales Traverse is a challenging cross country route in Northern England which covers uplands and valleys of the Red Rose County of Lancashire and White Rose County of Yorkshire. Principally it is a upland route across the Forest of Bowland and the Yorkshire Dales which highlights the contrast of the Forest of Bowland gritstone with the Yorkshire Dales limestone. The route, from the start in Garstang, Lancashire visits Calder Vale to begin the crossing of the Forest of Bowland during which Slaidburn is visited. The route then continues via to Stocks Reservoir to Gisburn Forest after which the route enters North Yorkshire near Giggleswick Moor. Settle is visited before the limestone dales are crossed. Features and habitations visited include, in order, Attermire Scar, Malham, Malham Cove, Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey Crag, Conistone, Kettlewell, Starbotton Fell, Buckden Pike, Walden Moor, Walden, West Burton, Aysgarth, Carperby, Castle Bolton, Harkerside Moor, Grinton, Reeth, Marrick Moor, Skelton Moor, Clints, Marske and Whitcliffe Scar before the traverse ends in Richmond.

Useful Links:
Long Distance Walkers Association

Feedback and Suggestions: To suggest a link for inclusion on a this page please complete the Walking Englishman Feedback Form. Thank you.

Copyright © 2003-2024 Walking Englishman. All rights reserved.
Facebook Twitter You Tube Linked In Google +